UCLA Faculty Conducting Tropical Research

Tropical Research at UCLA

UCLA faculty members affiliated with CTR are conducting tropical research on many continents. Their research spans many disciplines, and includes such areas as behavioral ecology, evolutionary psychology, plant ecophysiology, biogeography, sexual selection, and conservation. These faculty members supervise the projects of numerous graduate students and postdoctoral scholars conducting research in tropical environments.

UCLA Faculty Conducting Tropical Research

Barber, Paul Ecology and Evolutionary Biology paulbarber@ucla.edu Tropical seas of the Coral Triangle (Philippines, Malaysia, Indonesia, East Timor, Papua New Guinea and the Solomon Islands) Evolution of conservation of marine biodiversity, coral reefs, evolutionary and population genetics, natural selection and adaptation
Barrett, Clark Anthropology barrett@anthro.ucla.edu Ecuador Evolutionary psychology, cognitive anthropology, cross-cultural studies of cognitive development
Blumstein, Dan Ecology and Evolutionary Biology marmots@ucla.edu Australia Behavioral ecology
Cody, Martin L. Ecology & Evolution mlcody@ucla.edu Neotropics
N Australia
Community ecology of birds
Species interactions; acoustics; territoriality
Foraging ecology; flocking behavior
Gibson, Arthur C. Ecology and Evolutionary Biology agibson@biology.ucla.edu Costa Rica Plant ecophysiology and functional morphology
Gillespie, Thomas W. Geography Tg@geog.ucla.edu Oceania Conservation, remote sensing
Gordon, Malcolm S. Ecology and Evolutionary Biology & Institute of the Environment and Sustainability msgordon@ucla.edu Fishes from tropical Atlantic, Pacific, and Indian Oceans Primarily laboratory studies of biomechanics and hydrodynamics of fish locomotion. Grad students also study functional morphology and biomechanics of feeding behavior and mechanisms in elasmobranch fishes and whales.
Grether, Gregory F. Ecology and Evolutionary Biology ggrether@ucla.edu Trinidad
Panama
Mexico
Ecuador
Costa Rica
Behavioral ecology, sexual selection, speciation, alternative mating tactics, cooperative breeding, evolution of coloration. Current study systems include insects, fishes and birds.
Narins, Peter M. Physiological Science and Ecology and Evolutionary Biology pnarins@ucla.edu China
French Guiana
Puerto Rico
Namibia
Evolution of animal communication systems. Acoustic and vibration communication in vertebrates.
Novembre, John . Ecology and Evolutionary Biology jnovembre@ucla.edu (Assists in analysis of global and regional data sets) Computational methods in population genetics; human evolutionary genetics; genome evolution; population structure and adaptation
Perry, Susan Anthropology sperry@anthro.ucla.edu Costa Rica Primate behavioral ecology, communication, and social learning
Ross, Michael L. Political Science mlross@polisci.ucla.edu Indonesia Malaysia Politics of mineral and timber extraction; democratization; civil war
Rundel, Philip W. Ecology and Evolutionary Biology rundel@biology.ucla.edu Costa Rica
High Andes
SE Asia
Plant ecophysiology, biogeography, conservation biology
Sack, Lawren Ecology and Evolutionary Biology lawrensack@ucla.edu Hawaii Neotropics

Plant ecology and physiology, evolution of diversity in structure/function, forest dynamics, conservation biology
Schlinger, Barney A. Physiological Science Schlinge@lifesci.ucla.edu Panama Avian behavioral neuroendocrinology/ neuroethology
Thomas B. Smith Institute of the Environment and Sustainability & Ecology and Evolutionary Biology tbsmith@ucla.edu Cameroon
Uganda
Ecuador
Mexico
Evolutionary ecology, speciation and conservation of vertebrates, especially in the tropics. Conservation of Neotropical migrant birds. Ecology of tropical diseases.
Wake, Thomas A. The Cotsen Institute of Archaeology at UCLA twake@ucla.edu Panama
Guatemala
Mexico
California
Peru
Egypt
Archaeology, Zooarchaeology, development of social complexity and dietary studies. Human impacts on coastal environments, coastal archaeology, Holocene natural history, zoology.
Walter, Hartmut S. Geography walter@geog.ucla.edu Tropical islands
Mexico
Central America
East Africa
Island biogeography, habitat fragmentation. Conservation issues in human landscapes.
Xue, Yongkang Geography yxue@geog.ucla.edu United States
Amazonian Basin La Plata Basin
Sahel
East Asia
Climate/vegetation interactions, land surface modeling, remote sensing, regional climate and hydrology.

CTR Bird

Center for Tropical Research | UCLA Institute of the Environment and Sustainability
La Kretz Hall, Suite 300 | 619 Charles E. Young Dr. East | Los Angeles, CA 90095-1496

The Center for Tropical Research, located on the third floor of La Kretz Hall, is part of the Institute of the Environment and Sustainability at the University of California, Los Angeles. For general inquiries, contact Christa Gomez, CTR Office Manager, at 310-206-6234, or by email at cgomez@lifesci.ucla.edu. Visitors are always welcome.

Back to Top